What is Youth Tour?

Youth Tour is an annual contest sponsored by CHELCO that gives deserving high school juniors the opportunity to use their knowledge and wit to compete for a FREE week-long trip to Washington, D.C. Everyone who participates in CHELCO’s Youth Tour program gets to go to Tallahassee for two days, all expenses paid.

Electric cooperatives all over the country hold competitions. Youth Tour finalists get a chance to meet and talk to congressional leaders from Florida at the U.S. Capitol, plus you’ll get to see all the sights and visit cool places.

What is the Tour’s purpose?

The purpose is to get students out of the classroom and familiarize them with the utility that brings electricity to their life. They'll also get a first-hand look at the activities of our government in Tallahassee and in D.C.

What are the entry requirements?

Students must be high school juniors, and their parents must be members of CHELCO. Selected students must be energetic and eager to make the most out of this fun opportunity to learn. Initially, two students will be chosen from each school to participate in Youth Tour. All participants will then compete for the Washington, D.C., trip.

Important Dates to Remember

Dec. 15: Application Deadline (Submit to Guidance Counselor/Youth Tour Coordinator)

Feb. 7-8: Tallahassee Trip

June: 16-21: Washington, D.C., Trip

2024 Youth Tour Application Packet (Must submit to your guidance counselor by Dec. 15, 2023)

*Schools will be responsible for nominating two students from the junior class to represent their school.

2023 Youth Tour Participants

Allie Saunders                    Paxton

Anna Kimball                      Niceville

Beckham Tripp                   Freeport

Christopher Seeling          Rocky Bayou

Conner Brock                     Niceville

Gabriella Coon                  Paxton

Illianna Rivera                    Crestview

Joci Little                              Crestview

Kaitlyn Christensen          Freeport

Kaylee Gjesdal                   Laurel Hill

Kristina Polanco                 Walton

Lily Adams                          Baker

Michael Mosley Rocky    Bayou

Raleigh Reed* (FECA)     Walton

Sophie Palm                        Baker

2023 Youth Tour - Tallahassee, Florida